SolarGenAdvisor SolarGenAdvisor

Buying Guide · Updated November 2026

Cordless Heated Blanket 2026: Battery, Rechargeable & 12V Picks with Real Runtime Math

A cordless heated blanket runs from a battery instead of the wall: a pack that comes with the blanket, a USB power bank, a tool battery, or a power station's 12V socket. Battery size sets the runtime: Wh × 0.85 ÷ blanket watts. A 10W USB throw lasts about 6 hours on a 20,000 mAh power bank, and a 50W 12V blanket lasts about 17 hours on a 1 kWh power station. Our top picks are the Stalwart 12V for outages and cars, the Keltne USB throw for power banks, and the comfheat cordless throw if you want the battery included.

As an Amazon Associate, SolarGenAdvisor earns from qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no additional cost to you. Scores are AI-synthesized from manufacturer specs, manuals and logged Amazon prices; we did not test these blankets.

Quick Verdict

Battery blankets come in three kinds, and they're good at different jobs. A small cordless throw with its own pack gives an hour or two of warmth at a desk or in the stands. A USB throw lasts as long as the power bank you plug into it. A 12V blanket on a power station is the one that lasts all night in an outage or a tent. If you want to use a power station, stick to DC (12V socket or USB): Sunbeam's manuals warn against running its corded blankets on generator or inverter power. A heated blanket also beats a battery powered heater for outage warmth by roughly 30 to 1 in energy use.

How We Score Heated Blankets

Our power-station matrix doesn't fit blankets, so these scores use a blanket-specific rubric. Each score is AI-synthesized from manufacturer pages, owner's manuals, Amazon listing details and Amazon prices checked on November 1, 2026. We did not test any blanket, and we don't use Amazon star ratings because we have no reliable review data for these listings. Weights total 100:

  • Off-grid power fit (25): runs on DC (USB, 12V, tool battery or included pack), plus credit when the maker publishes a draw or runtime figure. Wall-only blankets whose maker warns against generator or inverter power score low.
  • Safety features (25): a published auto shut-off, and overheat protection or an ETL/UL certification
  • Value (15): the lowest live price here divided by this blanket's price (no live price scores low)
  • Warmth coverage (15): blanket area relative to the largest pick
  • Heat control (10): number of heat settings
  • Care (10): machine washable beats spot-clean only

A spec the maker doesn't publish scores as unknown (no credit), never as a pass. Blanket scores aren't comparable with our power-station scores.

The 5 Best Battery and Cordless Heated Blankets

Grouped by how they're powered: a cordless throw with its own battery, a USB throw, a tool-battery blanket, a 12V blanket and a corded throw for comparison. Specs come from the manufacturer page or manual (linked) and the Amazon listing. Where a figure isn't published, we say so.

1. Best Cordless Heated Blanket (Battery Included)

comfheat Cordless Heated Throw (5,000 mAh battery)

comfheat Cordless Heated Throw (5,000 mAh battery)

Cordless, battery included · 30 x 55 in · 3 heat settings · Auto-off: 45 minutes · Score 59/100

Price: $49.99

If you want a blanket that works straight out of the box with no cord at all, this is the simplest option. The 30 x 55 in faux-fur throw zips into a wearable shawl, ships with a 5,000 mAh rechargeable pack, and lists three heat levels (104, 118 and 135°F), an overheat-protection chip and a 45-minute auto shut-off. That short timer is good for safety, but it means re-pressing the button during a long movie. comfheat doesn't publish the pack's voltage or the blanket's wattage, so we can't calculate runtime from the listing (see the runtime section for a rough estimate). It's also the smallest blanket here: it covers one person's lap and shoulders, not a couch. Specs: Amazon listing (sold by Comfheat).

Pros

  • ✓ Battery included, no cord needed
  • ✓ 45-minute auto shut-off and overheat protection
  • ✓ Wearable shawl design
  • ✓ Sold by the brand on Amazon

Cons

  • ✗ Battery Wh and blanket wattage not published
  • ✗ Smallest coverage here (30 x 55 in)
  • ✗ Washing instructions not on the listing

2. Best USB Heated Blanket for Power Banks

Keltne USB Heated Throw 58 x 38 in (Battery Not Included)

Keltne USB Heated Throw 58 x 38 in (Battery Not Included)

USB, bring your own battery · 58 x 38 in · 3 heat settings · Auto-off: Not stated on listing · Score 66/100

Price: $33.99

A USB heated throw is the most flexible "battery operated heated blanket" because it runs from any power bank you already own, a laptop charger, or a power station's USB port. Keltne says to use a 5V 2A supply or above, which caps the draw at about 10W, so runtime is easy to work out: a 20,000 mAh power bank (about 74 Wh) gives roughly 6 hours. The 58 x 38 in flannel throw is larger than most battery blankets, has three heat levels, a pocket for the power bank, and is machine washable per the listing. Two caveats: the battery is not included, and the listing doesn't mention an auto shut-off, so switch it off yourself. It's sold by a third-party seller. Specs: Amazon listing (third-party seller).

Pros

  • ✓ Runs from any 5V 2A power bank or USB port
  • ✓ Easy runtime math (about 10W max)
  • ✓ Large 58 x 38 in, machine washable
  • ✓ USB adapter and 2 m extension cord in the box

Cons

  • ✗ Battery not included
  • ✗ No auto shut-off stated on the listing
  • ✗ Third-party seller

3. Best Rechargeable Heated Blanket for Tool-Battery Owners

Makita DCB200A 18V LXT Cordless Heated Blanket (Blanket Only)

Makita DCB200A 18V LXT Cordless Heated Blanket (Blanket Only)

Cordless, 18V tool battery · 27.6 x 55.1 in · 3 heat settings · Auto-off: Not published · Score 57/100

Check price at Amazon →

If you already own Makita 18V LXT tools, this is the longest-running rechargeable heated blanket we found with a published runtime. Makita rates it at up to 35 hours on low with an 18V 6.0Ah battery, which works out to an average of about 3W from a 108 Wh pack. It has three heat settings, a wind- and water-resistant polyester shell for the sidelines or a job site, and a power source with a USB port for charging your phone. Makita lists it as washer and dryer safe and backs the heating element and electronics with a 3-year limited warranty. The blanket is 27.6 x 55 in, more of a lap blanket than a throw, and the battery and charger are sold separately. Makita doesn't publish an auto shut-off. Amazon is the seller, but stock was low and no price was showing when we checked. Spec source.

Pros

  • ✓ Published runtime: up to 35 h on low (6.0Ah)
  • ✓ Washer and dryer safe
  • ✓ 3-year limited warranty (Makita)
  • ✓ USB port to charge a phone

Cons

  • ✗ Battery and charger sold separately
  • ✗ No auto shut-off published
  • ✗ Lap-blanket size; low stock on Amazon

4. Best 12V Heated Blanket (Car or Power Station)

Stalwart 12V Heated Car Blanket (Navy)

Stalwart 12V Heated Car Blanket (Navy)

12V socket · 59 x 43 in · 1 heat setting · Auto-off: None published · Score 69/100

Price: $24.88

This is the blanket we'd pair with a power station for an outage or a tent. It plugs into a 12V car-style socket, so it runs on DC with no inverter in between. Stalwart's manual for its 12V blanket lists 50W rated power, under 4.5A, and an 8A in-line fuse, which means a 288 Wh station runs it for about 5 hours and a 1 kWh station for about 17. The 59 x 43 in fleece blanket has a 96 in cord that reaches the back seat and comes with a storage case. It's simple: one automatic temperature, no published auto shut-off, and spot-clean only. Amazon sells and ships it, and it's the cheapest pick here. Spec source.

Pros

  • ✓ Published 50W draw makes runtime predictable
  • ✓ Runs on DC from a car or power-station socket
  • ✓ 96 in cord, storage case
  • ✓ Sold by Amazon; lowest price here

Cons

  • ✗ One heat level only
  • ✗ No auto shut-off published
  • ✗ Spot clean only

5. Best Corded Throw for Gifting (Wall Outlet)

Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Throw 50 x 60 in

Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Throw 50 x 60 in

120V wall outlet · 50 x 60 in · 4 heat settings · Auto-off: 4 hours · Score 67/100

Price: $42.10

For everyday couch warmth on grid power, a corded throw is still the most comfortable option: it's bigger and has more heat settings than any battery blanket. Sunbeam's 50 x 60 in Royal Ultra Fleece throw has four heat settings, a 4-hour auto shut-off, ETL certification and a 5-year limited warranty, and it's machine washable once you detach the controller. It isn't a power-station pick, though. Sunbeam's heated-bedding manual tells owners not to use its throws with generator power, and its blankets with generator power or an inverter (Sunbeam manual). We couldn't find the manual for this exact throw, so check the one in the box. For outages, use one of the DC picks above. Specs: Amazon listing (sold by Amazon.com).

Pros

  • ✓ Largest here: 50 x 60 in, four heat settings
  • ✓ 4-hour auto shut-off, ETL certified
  • ✓ 5-year limited warranty (listing)
  • ✓ Machine washable; sold by Amazon

Cons

  • ✗ Sunbeam manuals say not to use on generator power
  • ✗ Wattage not on the listing
  • ✗ Needs a wall outlet

Battery Heated Blanket Comparison Table

Figures are as published by each brand, its manual or its Amazon listing. "Not published" means we couldn't find the figure from the maker.

Blanket Power source Draw Battery Auto-off Size (in) Washing Score Price
comfheat Cordless Heated Throw (5,000 mAh battery) Included 5,000 mAh rechargeable pack Not published 5,000 mAh (voltage/Wh not published) 45 minutes 30 x 55 Not stated on listing 59/100 $49.99
Keltne USB Heated Throw 58 x 38 in (Battery Not Included) USB 5V; maker suggests a 5V 2A supply or above About 10W (5V x 2A supply the maker specifies) Not included; any 5V 2A USB power bank Not stated on listing 58 x 38 Machine washable (listing) 66/100 $33.99
Makita DCB200A 18V LXT Cordless Heated Blanket (Blanket Only) Makita 18V LXT battery (not included) Not published (35 h on low from a 108 Wh 6.0Ah pack implies about 3W average) Uses Makita 18V LXT packs; 6.0Ah = 108 Wh Not published 27.6 x 55.1 Washer and dryer safe (Makita) 57/100 Check price at Amazon →
Stalwart 12V Heated Car Blanket (Navy) 12V DC accessory socket (96 in cord) 50W rated, under 4.5A (Stalwart manual) None; plugs into a 12V socket None published 59 x 43 Spot clean only 69/100 $24.88
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece Heated Throw 50 x 60 in 120V AC wall outlet Not published on the listing None; corded 120V 4 hours 50 x 60 Machine washable, controller detached 67/100 $42.10

Stalwart figures come from its 12V Heated Blanket manual (hosted by Home Depot), which may cover a slightly different variant than this Amazon listing; check the label on yours. Makita figures come from makitatools.com. Warranty terms: Makita 3-year limited on the heating element and electronics, Sunbeam 5-year limited per the listing, Stalwart 1-year limited per its manual; comfheat and Keltne don't state one on their listings.

How Long Will a Heated Blanket Run on a Battery?

Runtime is battery watt-hours × 0.85 ÷ blanket watts. The 0.85 covers conversion losses in the power bank or station. The table uses each blanket's published or maker-specified draw on its highest setting. Blankets cycle on and off once warm, so real runtimes on low are usually longer.

Blanket (draw) 20,000 mAh power bank (~74 Wh)Anker SOLIX C300 DC (288 Wh)EcoFlow River 3 Plus (286 Wh)EcoFlow Delta 3 Plus (1,024 Wh)Jackery Explorer 1000 V2 (1,070 Wh)
USB heated throw, ~10W (Keltne: 5V 2A supply) ~6.3 h ~24 h ~24 h ~87 h ~91 h
12V car blanket, 50W (Stalwart manual rating) No 12V socket ~4.9 h ~4.9 h ~17 h ~18 h
120V throw, ~100W illustrative (only if its manual allows inverter power) No AC outlet No AC outlet ~2.4 h ~8.7 h ~9.1 h

Continuous-draw estimates, not measurements. The power bank column assumes a 20,000 mAh bank at a 3.7V cell voltage (about 74 Wh); check the Wh figure printed on your bank. The 100W row is an illustrative figure for a corded throw: Anker puts electric blankets at about 60–100W (Anker) and OUPES puts a medium setting at 60–100W (OUPES).

Converting a Blanket Battery's mAh to Watt-Hours

Many cordless blankets list battery size only in mAh. To compare, convert to watt-hours: Wh = mAh × volts ÷ 1,000, the same formula the FAA uses for batteries in luggage (FAA PackSafe). The catch is the voltage. Most USB power banks are rated at a 3.7V cell voltage, so 10,000 mAh is about 37 Wh and 20,000 mAh about 74 Wh. A pack built from two cells in series (7.4V) holds twice as much energy for the same mAh number.

That's why we can't give a runtime for the comfheat throw. Its 5,000 mAh pack would hold about 18.5 Wh at 3.7V or about 37 Wh at 7.4V, and comfheat publishes neither the voltage nor the blanket's wattage. If it's a 3.7V pack feeding a blanket in the 10W range, expect very roughly 1.5 hours on high. Treat that as a rough guess, not a spec. Makita is the opposite case: it publishes a runtime claim (up to 35 hours on low with a 108 Wh 6.0Ah battery), which suggests an average draw of only about 3W on low.

Heated Blanket on a Power Station: Use the 12V Socket, Not the AC Outlet

A portable power station is the best "battery pack" for a heated blanket if you want warmth all night. How you connect matters, though. Every power station's AC outlets are fed by a built-in inverter, and Sunbeam's heated-bedding manual says not to use its throws with generator power, and its blankets with generator power or an inverter (Sunbeam manual). The manual doesn't give a reason or make an exception for pure-sine units. RV electrical writer Mike Sokol reports a blanket running fine on a Jackery pure sine inverter and warns against modified sine inverters (RVelectricity). Still, one writer's experience doesn't override the maker's instructions.

The way around this is DC. A 12V blanket in the station's car socket, or a USB blanket in a USB port, skips the inverter entirely. That avoids the manual conflict and wastes less energy. Here's how the two DC picks pair with three power stations we already rate:

  Anker SOLIX C300 DC EcoFlow River 3 Plus Jackery Explorer 1000 V2
Capacity / weight 288 Wh / 6.17 lb 286 Wh / 10.4 lb 1,070 Wh / 23.8 lb
12V car socket Yes, 120W Yes Yes
Stalwart 12V (50W) ~4.9 h ~4.9 h ~18 h
Keltne USB (~10W) ~24 h ~24 h ~91 h
Our score 86/100 (review) 86/100 (review) 93/100 (review)
Price $189.99 $299.00 $559.00

Power-station scores use our 6-dimension power-station matrix and aren't comparable with the blanket scores above. Runtimes are continuous-draw estimates (Wh × 0.85 ÷ W). Car-socket specs are from each maker's published port list as summarized in our reviews.

Tent or car: Anker SOLIX C300 DC

DC-only (no AC outlets), about 6 lb, with a 120W car socket and fast USB-C. That's a good match for 12V and USB blankets. Its 288 Wh covers about 5 hours of the Stalwart on its single setting, or a full day of a USB throw.

Evening plus AC: EcoFlow River 3 Plus

A similar capacity to the C300 DC, plus AC outlets for a CPAP brick, lamp or router. It's a good fit if the blanket is one of several small loads.

All night, two people: Jackery 1000 V2

About 1 kWh runs a 50W 12V blanket for roughly 18 hours, or two blankets through a long winter night, with capacity left for phones and lights. It's the outage pick.

Heated Blanket for a Power Outage: Why It Beats a Space Heater

A 1,500W space heater empties a 1 kWh power station in about 35 minutes. The same station runs a 50W 12V blanket for about 17 hours. That 30-to-1 difference is why every winter plan on this site starts with heating the person, not the room. Our battery powered heater guide has the full heater-vs-blanket math, and our space heater runtime guide shows what each battery size can and can't do with a heater.

  1. One blanket per person on DC. A 12V blanket on a 1 kWh station covers a person through the night with power to spare. A 2 kWh station covers a couple, with reserve.
  2. Pre-warm, then turn it down. Low settings and the blanket's own thermostat cycling stretch every runtime in the table above.
  3. Shrink the space. Close off one small room. Blankets and sleeping bags work better in a cold room when the room isn't drafty.
  4. Never heat with fuel-burning appliances indoors. The CDC warns against using a gas oven, grill, camp stove or generator inside for heat (CDC). A power station makes no fumes.

Planning for a multi-day storm? Our winter storm power backup guide sizes a station for heat, fridge and phones together.

12V Heated Car Blanket: Don't Drain the Starter Battery

A 12V heated blanket is the warmest option for a road trip, but the car's starter battery isn't designed to run it for hours. Stalwart's own manual says to "always start the vehicle's engine before plugging in the blanket" and lists a draw of under 4.5A with an 8A in-line fuse (Stalwart manual). Follow it: with the engine off, a blanket slowly drains the battery you need to start the car.

To use a 12V blanket with the engine off, plug it into a portable power station's 12V socket instead. In a tent, at a tailgate or in a parked car, that keeps the starter battery out of the picture. Never idle a vehicle in a garage or other enclosed space for warmth, even with the door open (CDC).

Heated Blanket for Camping

At a campsite, pick by how long you need heat. For an evening around the fire or a cold stadium seat, a USB throw on a power bank (about 6 hours on 20,000 mAh) or the Makita on a tool battery is enough, and the Makita's wind- and water-resistant shell suits the outdoors. For sleeping, use a 12V blanket on a power station under or over your sleeping bag, at the lowest setting that keeps you comfortable. The Stalwart has no published auto shut-off, so only sleep under it if you're comfortable with that. Otherwise pre-warm the bag and switch it off. Our best solar generators for camping picks pair a station with panels so you can recharge during the day.

Heated Blanket Safety: Who Shouldn't Use One

Battery and 12V blankets run at low voltage, but the long-standing electric-blanket rules still apply. Here's what UL and Sunbeam publish:

  • Not for infants, young children, or anyone who can't operate the controls. UL says electric blankets are not recommended for infants, young children, or anyone paralyzed or unable to understand how to operate them safely (UL). Sunbeam's manual adds people who are incapacitated or immobile, diabetics, and anyone insensitive to heat, such as people with poor circulation (Sunbeam manual).
  • Don't fold or bunch it while it's on. UL says never to fold an electric blanket in use and notes that falling asleep on a bunched-up blanket is a common cause of burns. It also says not to pile bedding on top.
  • Keep controllers and cords free. Sunbeam says not to wrap the control in the throw and not to trap cords between the mattress, slats or furniture.
  • Prefer a published auto shut-off. Among our picks, comfheat (45 minutes) and Sunbeam (4 hours) publish one. Keltne, Makita and Stalwart don't, so switch those off yourself.
  • Look for a listing mark and check recalls. UL recommends blankets approved by a nationally recognized testing lab, and CPSC keeps a searchable recall database (CPSC recalls).

Always follow the manual that comes with your blanket. Where it conflicts with anything on this page, the manual wins.

Cordless Heated Blanket as a Gift: Which One for Whom

The always-cold office worker

The comfheat throw: battery included, wearable, and its 45-minute auto shut-off suits a desk.

The sports parent or tailgater

The Keltne USB throw if they carry a power bank, or the Makita if there are Makita 18V tools in the garage.

The commuter or road-tripper

The Stalwart 12V blanket for the car's emergency kit (used with the engine running, per its manual).

The prepper

A 12V blanket plus a power station is a real outage kit. See our solar generator gift guide for stations at every budget.

Every price on this page loads live from Amazon. Winter items like these have historically been promoted around Black Friday and the holidays, but there's no guarantee of a discount on any one listing. Battery blanket listings also come and go quickly, so check stock before you plan around one.

Who Should Buy a Battery Heated Blanket (and Who Should Skip)

Good fit

  • ✓ Anyone planning outage warmth around a power station
  • ✓ Campers, tailgaters and sports parents
  • ✓ Drivers who want a warm blanket in the car (engine running)
  • ✓ People who are cold at a desk or on the couch away from an outlet

Skip it if

  • ✗ It's for an infant, a young child, or someone who can't operate the controls or sense heat
  • ✗ You expect all-night heat from a small included battery pack
  • ✗ You want to run a corded blanket on a power station's AC outlet against its manual
  • ✗ You only use it on the couch next to an outlet (a corded throw is warmer for less)

Battery Heated Blanket FAQ

What is the best cordless heated blanket?

It depends on the battery you want to use. For a blanket that works out of the box, the comfheat cordless throw includes its own 5,000 mAh pack and a 45-minute auto shut-off. If you already own a power bank, a USB throw such as the Keltne runs at about 10W and lasts about 6 hours on a 20,000 mAh bank. For outages and car trips, a 12V blanket like the Stalwart (50W rated) plugged into a power station runs about 5 hours per 300 Wh of battery. In our scoring the Stalwart ranks highest overall.

How long will a heated blanket run on a battery?

Multiply the battery's watt-hours by about 0.85 and divide by the blanket's watts. A 10W USB blanket runs about 6 hours on a 74 Wh (20,000 mAh) power bank. A 50W 12V blanket runs about 5 hours on a 288 Wh power station and about 17 hours on a 1,024 Wh station. Blankets cycle on and off once they are warm, so real runtimes on low are often longer. Makita, for example, rates its 18V blanket at up to 35 hours on low with a 108 Wh battery.

Can you run a heated blanket on a portable power station?

Yes, and the most efficient way is DC: plug a 12V heated blanket into the station's car socket or a USB blanket into a USB port, which skips the inverter. Be careful with corded 120V blankets. Sunbeam's heated-bedding manuals tell owners not to use its throws with generator power and its blankets with generator power or an inverter, and a power station's AC outlets come from an inverter. Read your blanket's manual before plugging it into a power station.

Are battery operated heated blankets safe?

They run at low voltage, but the usual electric-blanket rules still apply. UL advises never folding an electric blanket while it is on, not putting bedding on top of it, and not using one for infants, young children or anyone who can't operate it safely. Sunbeam's manual adds diabetics and people insensitive to heat. Choose a model with a published auto shut-off, don't sleep under a blanket that has none, and check cpsc.gov for recalls.

Can I use a 12V heated blanket with the car engine off?

Stalwart's 12V blanket manual tells you to start the vehicle's engine before plugging the blanket in, because a 50W blanket drawing about 4A will run down a starter battery. A portable power station or jump-starter-style battery with a 12V socket is the safer way to use one with the engine off. Never run a vehicle in a garage or other enclosed space for heat (CDC).

How many watts does a heated blanket use?

USB heated throws are limited to about 10W by a 5V 2A supply, and 12V car blankets are commonly rated around 50W (Stalwart publishes 50W). Corded 120V throws and blankets draw more: power-station makers Anker and OUPES put electric blankets at roughly 60 to 100W, with king-size blankets on high reaching about 200W. The rating label on your blanket's controller or cord is the number to use.

Is a heated blanket better than a space heater in a power outage?

For battery power, yes by a wide margin. A 1,500W space heater empties a 1,000 Wh power station in about 35 minutes, while the same station runs a 50W 12V blanket for about 17 hours. Heating the person instead of the room is the core of every outage heating plan on this site. CPSC also warns never to leave a space heater running while you sleep.

Top 12V Heated Blanket ★
Shop on Amazon →